The 2021 Shootout is sponsored by ANSYS Inc

The 2021 Shootout is sponsored by Braid Wheels USA

The 2021 Shootout is sponsored by Motional

The 2021 Pittsburgh Shootout results can be found on the Timing tab.

For Interested Teams

Updated 6/22/2021

  • Cost to register: $280.00 USD. Cost covers the track rental, insurance, timing equipment, t-shirts, and camping at the event. Registration fee is sent via PayPal invoice and due July 15.

    • Registration of a 2nd car from the same team shall be $150.00. This cost applies to additional (3rd, 4th, etc) cars from the same team.

    • Registration shall open May 17.

    • Registration shall close July 15.

    • Registration is capped to 35 cars.

  • FSAE/Formula Student/Formula Hybrid cars new and old may participate. IC, Hybrid or EV cars may enter.

  • Rules may be found at the "Rules and FAQ" tab.

  • Questions may be sent at the "Contact" tab.

  • Recommended lodging may be found at the "Maps" tab.

About Formula SAE and the Pittsburgh Shootout

Formula SAE is a student design competition organized by SAE International, headquartered in Pittsburgh's backyard in Warrendale, Pennsylvania. The competition was started in 1980. The concept behind Formula SAE is that a fictional manufacturing company has contracted a student design team to develop a small Formula-style racecar. The prototype racecar is to be evaluated for its potential as a production item.

The team must be made up entirely of active college students which places obvious restrictions on available work hours, skill sets, experience, and presents unique challenges that professional race teams do not face with a paid, skilled staff. The program is an excellent supplement to STEM programs like Mechanical, Electrical, or Industrial Engineering/Technology as well as for programs such as Finance, Marketing, Logistics, and more.

For more information about the SAE Collegiate Design Series and the Formula SAE challenge, please follow the hyperlink below:

The Pittsburgh Shootout is not sanctioned or organized by SAE International as a part of the SAE Collegiate Design Series. The event was started in 2016 by students at the University of Pittsburgh. Now run by a group of both alumni and current students, the event is a 1 day showcase of the teams in driving distance of Pittsburgh, PA. This event follows the official competition events, so it is a relaxed but competitive drive day for these schools.

2017 Pittsburgh Shootout Winner, #26 Carleton University

The 2006 (back) and 2016 (front) Pitt Formula SAE cars lined up at the 2016 event.

2017 Pittsburgh Shootout 3rd place, #30 Rutgers University

Event History


9 teams competed at the first Pittsburgh Shootout held on August 17, 2016. The day was hot but successful! Carleton University from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada took first place at the event.

Teams that competed:

  • University of Pittsburgh - 2016

  • University of Pittsburgh - 2005

  • Wayne State University

  • University of Toledo

  • Villanova University

  • West Virginia University

  • Carleton University

  • Penn Electric Racing

  • Rutgers University

Below: Syracuse University at the 2017 Shootout


After a first successful year, enrollment in the event doubled to 18 cars. Teams from as far away as Missouri drove in to compete. Again, Carleton's Ravens Racing took 1st place. The Ohio State University took 2nd, and Rutgers University with 3rd.

Teams that Competed:

  • Carleton University

  • The Ohio State University

  • Rutgers University

  • University of Missouri

  • Kettering University

  • Villanova University

  • University of Pittsburgh - 2005

  • University of Pittsburgh - 2017

  • Oakland University

  • University of Maryland

  • Wayne State University - 2017

  • Penn State University

  • Lawrence Technological University

  • University of Toledo

  • Wayne State University -2016

  • Carnegie Mellon University

  • Syracuse University

  • University of Windsor


The Pittsburgh Shootout grew to 20 teams in 2018 and proved to be a competitive day! It was blistering hot July day without a drop of rain and track activity from 10-5. University of Michigan - Ann Arbor dethroned the defending champions Carleton Raven's Racing to take the 1st place trophy.

Teams that Competed:

  • Carleton University

  • Wayne State University

  • Clemson University

  • University of Windsor

  • University of Pittsburgh -2018

  • University of Pittsburgh - 2006

  • University of Michigan - Dearborn

  • The Ohio State University

  • University of Toledo

  • Oakland University

  • Central Michigan University

  • Lehigh University

  • Temple University

  • Carnegie Mellon University

  • Pennsylvania State University - University Park

  • Pennsylvania State University - Harrisburg

  • University of Michigan - Ann Arbor

  • Rutgers University

  • University of Western Ontario

  • University of Toronto


Cancelled due to COVID-19


The Pittsburgh Shootout grew to 28 teams in 2019! Mother Nature gave us two extremes over the 4th of July weekend with brutal heat and humidity and a vicious downpour at 3pm. However, the rain didn't dampen our spirits. University of Michigan - Ann Arbor defended their title of first place, with newcomers McGill Formula Electric and Michigan State Racing taking 2nd and 3rd.

The 2019 Pittsburgh Shootout was sponsored by ANSYS, Uber ATG, and ShelterLogic.

Teams that Competed:

  • University Of Michigan

  • McGill Formula Electric

  • Michigan State Formula Racing Team

  • Carleton University Ravens Racing

  • University of Cincinnati

  • Warrior Racing

  • Clemson University

  • Western Formula Racing

  • Rocket Motorsports

  • Panther Racing

  • University of Connecticut

  • UMD Racing

  • Lehigh Racing

  • Western Formula Racing

  • Carnegie Mellon Racing

  • Purdue Formula SAE

  • Rutgers University

  • University of Cincinnati

  • Gryphon Racing

  • Terps Racing

  • Penn State Racing

  • Grizzlies Racing

  • Capital College Racing

  • Formula uOttawa

  • Temple Formula Racing

  • Lancer Motorsports - University of Windsor

  • Queen's University Formula

  • Novaracing